down arrowMenu

Policies and Procedures

4.21 Emeritus/a Status


To designate criteria for award of emeritus/a status, establish procedures for nomination and approval process and recognize the University of Northern Iowa Emeritus Association.

Policy Statement:

Emeritus/a is an honorary status, conferred upon certain non-temporary faculty, academic administrators, institutional officials, and professional & scientific staff following retirement or resignation who qualify for and are awarded the status. Eligibility requirements include a minimum of twenty years of creditable full-time or part-time service in higher education with a minimum accumulation of ten years of service at the University of Northern Iowa. The Provost and Executive Vice President may grant emeritus administrator status to central administrative officers, deans, and directors who otherwise would be eligible for emeritus status as stated above, except that they retire or terminate their service to the University before accumulating ten years at the University of Northern Iowa; those persons must have served the minimum of twenty years in higher education.

Titles for those approved for emeritus/a status are:

  • Professor Emeritus/a, for instructional faculty, regardless of previous rank

  • Consistent with academic administrator or administrative professional & scientific position title of position held (e.g., Director Emeritus/a). 

Other privileges of those holding Emeritus/a status are established by the University in consultation with the Emeritus Association and are to be found at


Formal application or nomination is initiated with completion of the request for Emeritus/a Status form, available online in the Forms Repository  or from the Office of Academic Affairs or Human Resource Services. The application is processed through normal administrative channels except the University Faculty Senate also acts on all requests pertaining to faculty members. Posthumous nominations may be submitted.

Office of Academic Affairs and Faculty Senate, approved November 11, 2015
President’s Cabinet, approved March 7, 2016
President and Executive Management Team, approved March 8, 2016